Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of Harford Community College is comprised of nine trustees appointed by the Maryland governor, each for a five-year term.

Six members represent the Councilmanic Districts and three are appointed from the county at large. Members may serve up to two consecutive terms. The Board provides general oversight and establishes policies that govern the College, ensuring the institution fulfills its mission as outlined in Article 16 of the Annotated Code of Maryland.

Board Meetings

The Board meets on the second Tuesday of each month (excluding July) at 6 p.m. to conduct business in open session. Regularly scheduled monthly Board meetings are open to the public.

Individuals or groups wishing to present a matter of concern pertaining to the College at a Board Meeting are to submit a written request to the President of the College at least ten (10) working days prior to the regularly scheduled public meeting. Upon recommendation by the President and approval of the Board Chair, the matter may be included on the agenda for the meeting. Those wishing to make a public comment at the meeting must make a request to the Director for Communications  prior to the start of the meeting.

Guidelines adopted by the Board for public comment specify a 3-minute limit for each citizen or group. Topics for discussion must relate to College concerns. Comments which involve personal attacks, employment or employee-related matters, real estate acquisitions, or which contain unprofessional or inappropriate language or content are not allowed. For more information on the Board of Trustees' public comment guidelines, contact the Director for Communications at 443.412.2408.